The Scientific Earthquake Studies Advisory Committee (SESAC) was created in 2002 by legislation reauthorizing the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP). The SESAC meets several times each year, and provides advice and direction to the USGS Earthquake Hazards Program. The committee's membership and procedures are compliant weith the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA).


* Per the committee charter, Dr. Burgmann serves as an ex offcio member in his capacity as Chair of the National Earthquake Prediction Evaluation Council (NEPEC).