Earthquake Science Center Seminars

March 2017

Seismic Hazard Analysis -- Capturing Uncertainty: How Uncertain Should We Be?

  • Wednesday March 01, 2017
  • 10:30 AM
Speaker:Bill Lettis, Lettis Consultants International
Location:Building 3, Rambo Auditorium
Host:Tom Hanks

How is Coseismic Strain Released across Damage Zones and with Depth? Insights using Sub-pixel Optical Image Correlation

  • Wednesday March 08, 2017
  • 10:30 AM
Speaker:Chris Milliner, UC Berkeley
Location:Building 3, Rambo Auditorium
Host:Josie Nevitt

Data Mining Microseismicity using PageRank

  • Wednesday March 15, 2017
  • 10:30 AM
Speaker:Ana Aguiar, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Location:Building 3, Rambo Auditorium
Host:Ezer Patlan

TBA

  • Wednesday March 22, 2017
  • 10:30 AM
Speaker:Sunyoung Park, Harvard University
Location:Building 3, Rambo Auditorium
Host:Ruth Harris

TBA

  • Wednesday March 29, 2017
  • 10:30 AM
Speaker:Nana Yoshimitsu, Stanford University
Location:Building 3, Rambo Auditorium
Host:Annemarie Baltay

April 2017

TBA

  • Wednesday April 05, 2017
  • 10:30 AM
Speaker:Barbara Romanowicz, UC Berkeley
Location:Building 3, Rambo Auditorium

Moment rate scaling for earthquakes 3.3 < M < 5.3 with implications for stress drop

  • Wednesday April 12, 2017
  • 10:30 AM
Speaker:Ralph Archuleta, UC Santa Barbara
Location:Building 3, Rambo Auditorium
Host:Annemarie Baltay

No Seminar - SSA Annual Meeting

  • Wednesday April 19, 2017
  • 10:30 AM

TBA

  • Wednesday April 26, 2017
  • 10:30 AM
Speaker:Eileen Evans, USGS
Location:Building 3, Rambo Auditorium

May 2017

TBA

  • Wednesday May 10, 2017
  • 10:30 AM
Speaker:Emily Wolin, USGS Pasadena
Location:Building 3, Rambo Auditorium

Joint VSC/ESC Seminar - TBA

  • Tuesday May 23, 2017
  • 10:30 AM
  • Note day
Speaker:Alicia Hotovec-Ellis, USGS
Location:Building 3, Rambo Auditorium
Host:TBA

Please contact the seminar committee to suggest a future topic or speaker: