National Earthquake Prediction Evaluation Council (NEPEC)

The National Earthquake Prediction Evaluation Council (NEPEC) was created in 1980 by legislation reauthorizing the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP). The Council provides advice and recommendations to the Director of the U.S. Geological Survey on earthquake predictions and related scientific research, in support of the Director’s delegated responsibility under the Stafford Act (P.L. 93-288) to issue timely warnings of potential geologic disasters. The Council’s membership and procedures are compliant with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). NEPEC meetings are announced on this web site, and also published in the Federal Register in compliance with the notification requirement of section 10(a)(2) of the FACA. However, as stated in P.L. 101-614, the Council shall be exempt from the notification requirement when meeting on an urgent matter.

NEPEC Charter (PDF) | Meetings | Reports


Dr. Terry Tullis, Chair
Brown University

Dr. Ramon Arrowsmith
Arizona State University

Dr. Evelyn Roeloffs
USGS, Vancouver, Washington

Dr. John Vidale
University of Washington

Dr. Andrew Michael
USGS, Menlo Park, California

Dr. Allan Rubin
Princeton University

Roland Burgmann
University of California, Berkeley

Sue Hough
USGS, Pasadena, California

Dr. Bill Leith, Co-chair, ex officio
Senior Science Advisor for Earthquake and Geologic Hazards
and Coordinator, Earthquake Hazards Program
USGS, Reston, Virginia

Dr. Michael Blanpied, Executive Secretary
Associate Coordinator, Earthquake Hazards Program
USGS, Reston, Virginia